“A master of the genre.” Washington Post


Michael Nava is the author of a series of crime novels featuring Henry Rios, a gay, Mexican-American criminal defense lawyer. Additionally, he is the author of The City of Palaces, an historical novel set in the years before and at the beginning of the Mexican Revolution of 1910.

The Henry Rios novels in order

  • Lay Your Sleeping Head 
  • Carved in Bone
  • Lies With Man
  • Howtown
  • The Hidden Law
  • The Death of Friends
  • The Burning Plain
  • Rag and Bone
  • Other works by the author
  • The City of Palaces
  • The Little Death
  • Goldenboy
  • Street People